rambling.

[[Written on Saturday, April 25, 2015 at 12:38am]]

As I write this to you, it’s late. I mean, it could be later, but it’s late by some standards.

A lot has been going on lately. Mixed feelings. School stress [LOTS of school stress]. Severe sleep deprivation. Laughter. Excitement. Extreme happiness. Acceptance. Anger. Like I said, a lot has been going on.

One of the bigger things, though, is that one of the poems I submitted was posted in honor of National Poetry Month!

Every day this month, PureHoney Magazine posts a new poem from any and all people. At the urging of my good friend Katie, I submitted one, “Grand Canyon” [which you can read here]. I checked back on the website every day, and didn’t see it. Not seeing it didn’t bother me all that much. But I decided to submit something else. I picked a revised piece, a complementary picture, and sent it off at 12am earlier this week. I didn’t expect much.

Tonight, I was lounging on the couch and looking at the recent poem posts and, lo and behold, my second submission was there!

Let me tell you, it was the most wonderful feeling in the world to see that. I think I was shaking from excitement. I immediately messaged three of my biggest encouragers to tell them the great news.

It was just so… So amazing. It blows my mind that complete strangers can like my poetry, and like it enough to share it with countless other people. Dang. It’s such a big encrouragement to me, knowing that other people see something in my writings and me. I hope I can remember this feeling forever because, my gosh, it is beyond words.

I realized some things then too. 1. If you aren’t rooting for yourself, who will?, and 2. Who you want to share your happiness with says a lot about you.

I’m not sure why, but these two things kind of struck me in the midst of my euphoria.

If you don’t cheer for yourself, you can’t expect others to. Your happiness is not their responsibility. So be your biggest cheerleader. Stay humble, but don’t forget to tell yourself every now and then how great you are doing.

In the first few moments of seeing my poem posted, I needed to share this good news. So I told the people who would be available and could share in my happiness. I think knowing who you think of first when you get news says a lot about you and them. It’s these people that you know will love on you and support you. It’s pretty cool.

So this week was just something else but I’m glad it ended on a happy note. [If you want to read my posted poem, you can find it here. Mine is day 23.]


© Jessica Chung and Thoughts From My Fingers, 2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jessica Chung and Thoughts From My Fingers with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

